Mobile Diffusion: By Ry

Twitter: @greatnbetweener

(Rives, 2006)

I actually considered purchasing the domain hotshithotshotgod.net after witnessing Rives’ presentation on controlling the internet. I guarantee you, if you go there, I’ll be sure to provide a RickRoll or this video (BestVids4u, 2013).  Hell, the internet is the wild west of today, but in the zenith of modern corporatism and hegemony, it’s the closest thing we have to calling ourselves “free. ”

Hey, I’m Ry Patterson. I’d like to quote the character Rust Cohle from HBO’s new show True Detective, to give you an idea of where I’m coming from with this whole Internet thing. He says, “I’d consider myself a realist, alright? But in philosophical terms I’m what’s called a pessimist…” (Pizzolatto & Fukanaga, 2014)  I’m a Media Studies & Production super senior. I’m graduating in the Spring (provided I pass this class). This will be my 3rd degree. I already have an Associates of Science degree from the Art Institute of Philadelphia in Video Production and an Associates of Arts degree from Community College of Philadelphia in Communications/Theater. I am a dual admissions student that originally began my journey at Temple as a Journalism major. However, soon after, my classes decided to critically analyze the Rupert Murdoch phone hacking scandal, numerous deceptive Journalist’s, like Jayson Blair who plagiarized while working for the New York Times, and Newsroom, a spectacular piece of fiction that produces more honest news than the real newscasters who were present when the real events occurred. Needless to say, I quit. I cannot report the news if on some level my job will force me to lie. And it is of my opinion (and incidentally the plot line of Anchorman 2) that news is an entirely diffused spectrum of corporations who outwardly tell people they are honest in order to lie more. Therefore, I transmuted my sentence at Temple University from a three year commitment to a two year commitment by switching to MSP.

Don’t misread me. I want to be here. It just so happens that MSP aligns with my previous real world work experience. I was a production assistant in New York, Philadelphia and Washington DC from 2004-2010 off and on.  I’ve worked for Ellen, Tyra Banks, CBS Survivor, ABC, NBC, MTV, Nickelodeon, WETA, HBO Comedy and Cadillac for television productions. When I was working on a short lived reality show called “The Next Best Thing,” I got to talking to the show’s founding producer Peter Engel. People know Peter from his years producing Saved By The Bell. Anyway, Peter challenged me. He said, “What do you want to do?” I said, “I want to do what you do, I guess.” Then he said, “What does your degree tell me you can do?” I said, “Lug around cables and plug in cameras?” So it was decided then and there that I should complete my education and get a Bachelor’s degree in the theory on why we were doing any type of communicating. Unfortunately for the world, when I start asking “why,” I don’t stop asking.

Currently, to support this endeavor, I work at Apple. In 2007, my production life started to sputter to death when the economy took a dive and entertainment jobs disappeared. I struggled for awhile and was in debt to my landlord. Desperate for a job, I found Apple on craigslist, of all places. Soon after, I was working part time and, in 2009, my life changed again when Apple hired me as a full time “Creative.” I’m really just a trainer. I teach people how to use things that are working properly. No… I am not a genius. I excel at using technology because I’ve repeated it a thousand times at my job.  I’m a Creative. You know what that is? That’s a corporation appropriating an adjective to be used as a noun. They can do that you know… Corporations. The Supreme Court aligned with them in the 1886 ruling ‘Santa Clara County v. The Southern Pacific railroad’ (publicly stating that corporations are people like you and I) and setting a legal precedent that has shaped this world. Incidentally, Santa Clara County is known for its Silicon Valley. Fun fact or coincidentally scary? You tell me.

Mobile media is another endeavor of the human condition that aims to build things that prove we are a clever species. We are in an era where people have ceased to create anything that moves us forward as a population. (Weren’t we going to Mars?) I’m not sure mobile communication is entirely healthy for us (meaning humanity) if it isn’t furthering the greater good of humanity (like how it’s simplified version, radio technology, failed at saving the Titanic). Moreover, I think mobile media is dividing people from unifying to create good. I would quickly be branded a conspiracy theorist (which is the modern version of heretic so I’m glad the pyres haven’t been set in years) if I were to proclaim that any aspect of this division is intended by the corporations or governments controlling our mobile communication.  However, since in this forum I’m only to be judged by a jury of my peers (and none of you seem to be brandishing pitchforks and torches), and not the whole of the Internet, I guess I’ll stand by that conclusion.

I love Rives outlook in his poetry about the Internet, but I can’t help but see it as idealistic and comment that the Internet, albeit necessary in an era where everybody uses it and it is the only means of communication, is doing more to cripple our free expression, free will and freedom than we think. I joined this class to round out a degree that will help me to rise above the technological veil being cast, so I can possess the power to create a voice of my own in order to make others aware of the human condition that besieges them.

After watching Rives, the cold shower will be this video. Enjoy the vision through the looking glass:

References

BestVids4u (2013, December 12). WTH Is This?: Man Doing Insanely Odd Things To His Xbox 360, Wasting A Bunch Of Food For No Reason [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4LHkKcm0GI

BestVids4u (2013, December 17). What is Wrong With Our Culture [Video file]. Retrieved from http://youtu.be/idURGPFknkU

Pizzolatto, N. (Writer), & Fukanaga, C. (Director) (2014, January 12). The Long Bright Dark. [Television series episode] In True Detective. HBO.

Rives (2006, November). Rives: If I controlled the Internet | Video on TED.com [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.ted.com/talks/rives_controls_the_internet.html

Leave a Reply

