Intro Post: Stephen Shields

Twitter: @Steven_Shields

My name is Stephen Shields and I am a senior MSP major. As I’m sure you can imagine, being in this major involves taking a number of courses that involve the subject of mobile media. At first glance, I thought that we may be spending way too much time covering a subject that didn’t matter. However, the more I thought about it, I found that we have no choice but to talk about it. Over the past couple years, advancements in technology have forced mobile media into our lives in a way that has completely changed how the majority of us live.

Although many people try to downplay the importance of mobile communication, the fact is that it is no longer simply a part of our lives; it is our lives. We post every life event online for everyone to see; birthdays, weddings, employment, our cats and even death is open content for the masses. Some are more private than others, but there is no denying that the percentage of our lives that we live through a device is only growing. Because of this, it is important to ask ourselves just how this change is affecting us as people and as a society. As much as I have had to think and talk about this subject, I have yet to come up with a definitive answer as to whether these advancements are positive or negative in nature. This is why I was interested in taking this course. Not only do I find it to be an interesting subject, but it’s a very relevant topic to my everyday life. As much as I have debated the pros and cons of mobile media, I don’t know how much it has affected my use and consumption. I’d like to say that I’m now better equipped as a user, but I’m not sure I always take advantage of the knowledge I’ve acquired. By the end of the class I would like to have more insight as to how right or wrong I am making use of mobile media. Here is 40 minutes of a washing machine. Contemplate your use of the internet while you watch.

Works Cited

Blogger-Cookies. Retrieved January 26th, 2013 from http://www.stickersstarsandsmiles.com/featured-article/social-media-is-taking-over-my-life/

Pets Who Want To Kill Themselves. Retrieved January 26th, 2013 from http://petswhowanttokillthemselves.com/

Sharkie626.  (March 25th, 2011) 2010 Whirlpool Washing Machine Part 2 (The Movie!). Retrieved January 25th, 2013 from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTz_mS7kb2A

Leave a Reply

